00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Souhei33 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Tips for getting work?

613 Views | 27 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Tips for getting work? 2024-07-20 16:43:24

Hey y'all,

This question goes out to any animator in NewGrounds who has found steady work or made a living out of animation.

[This is all stuff about me you can skip to get to the question]

I have been coming to NewGrounds since I was 8 years old. When I turned 12 and learned how people were making games and animations in NG it immediately caught my attention. I "bought" my first copy of Macromedia Flash 2004 and ever since then all I've done is learn as much as I can about animation, script writing, storyboarding, animatics, color theory even. I enrolled in SCAD for Animation until I got an understanding of how money works and realized I can't afford that. Graduated from a University in my home country of Puerto Rico with a bachelor's in Digital Animation. This university focused a lot more in 3D animation and Game Design; not what I wanted to do but was pressured to finish my bachelor's regardless. A bachelor's is just a piece of paper, I believe, and the true value of college comes from networking. In Puerto Rico I swear there are at most 20 2D animators, myself included; and none of them make a living from it, so networking in the 2D animation field was impossible.